Finding homes for all those records

My record collection has increased in size from about 225 or so to nearly 700 in about a year. If I was really pressed and had to make room for new ones could I part with some? Absolutely.  But who wants to make this choice?  When I set out on this adventure I suggested I had room for about 600 records.  It was probably more like 500. But little by little I’ve added more space and could probably house about 900 if I’m careful.

One of my chief problems is that I live in a relatively small house.  Just short of 1,700 sq. ft., the house works for my wife and I, our three Australian shepherds and our plethora of space-intensive hobbies.  But there is only so much wall space for bookcases, and reasonable spaces to carefully stash vinyl.

DSCN1547

My IKEA Kallistra is a 4 X 2, but they can be double that size with the available wall space.  At about eighty bucks the price is reasonable for the capacity.

Most of my albums I keep in an IKEA Kallistra cabinet in my den/workroom.  It is the perfect size for vinyl albums, and if more space was available I could double the height of the unit.  However, it is fairly light and would need wall support to hold 800 records.  I estimate I currently have about 450 records in this one. It has the virtue of costing about $80 and is very easy to assemble.

As Lorri and I have done the garage and estate sale thing, we’ve also stumbled across some alternate record storage pieces that fit our available space.  It’s funny.  While I would often snort in derision at the Mantovani and Ferrante and Teicher records for sale, the means the sellers had for carefully storing them had great appeal for me.

First, there is the Lane record chest.  It’s like a cedar chest with an upholstered top for seating.  Pretty handy and probably safely holds about 125 records. My rock albums T-Z are kept here. The only downside is it is a bare surface which means I frequently pile stuff on top of it, making it hard to access Thin Lizzy, Robin Trower, The Who and Warren Zevon.  We saw it priced for 50 bucks and grabbed it, but they frequently sell for much more on eBay and antique shops.

DSCN1541

Lorri’s record cabinet as furniture.

DSCN1542

And voila–more records. Country and Western, folk, easy listening and some 4-track reel to reel tapes that go with my ca.1962 massive Sony reel to reel player. If you’re interested in taking it off my hands let me know.

Lorri really liked this record cabinet.  She finished it as a piece of furniture and it’s just off our living room. .  There are dividers, though a few are missing.  It’s where I keep my non-rock/R&B records.  Still have some space left for country and western and easy listening, but also not a high-growth area for me. Not quite sure what she paid for it.

DSCN1545

Kinda crowded this little fella into a very small space.  Anything for records, right?

 

DSCN1546

Cabinet opens and you’ll find all my Beatles and Blue Oyster Cult records. 

I saw this chest at an estate sale.  The records in it didn’t interest me, but the relatively small footprint led me to believe I could squeeze it into into a small wall space.  And it worked.  It is divided on top.  It’s where I keep my records A-B.  Below, without divisions, I keep soundtracks and anthologies.  It was $45 for a small, 30″ H X 20″ W X 16″ D, nice piece of furniture that fit into a very small piece of wall space.

I have other places where I could shoehorn a few dozen more records if I had to, but for the time being I don’t have to make that choice.  But I’m fresh out of room to put more storage in the house.

Leave a Reply

