Two boys: A life after Lucy

One of my all-time favorite pictures taken at the dog park Sunday.  It's such a great, animated pic of Amos

One of my all-time favorite pictures taken at the dog park Sunday. It’s such a great, animated pic of Amos

It’s been two months since we lost Lucy.  It’s been tough at times.  It took about four weeks for me to bring in her leash and collar from my car and hang it up with our other dog accoutrements.  It took six weeks for me to move her kennel out to the storage shed.  I still haven’t hung up her picture in my classroom, one of my all time favorite photos.  But I will.

But life has gone on with Rusty and Amos.  And things really have changed.  They are less rivals now, and spend more time together in the back yard and chasing each other around the house.  Last Sunday we took them to the Fort Steilacoom Dog Park (which I highly recommend.) They followed each other around, navigated their way through bushels of other dogs large and small, and did their best to ignore a four pound, highly intrusive poodle named Yuckie. They didn’t bark or growl at other doggie parents, and had a generally good time.  We plan to make our way out there weekly.

The boys sleep with us at night, which Lucy would never allow.  She was kind of like an aging school marm.

“In your crates boys!  Right now!! You heard me!! Do I need to get out the switches?!!”

We love it in some respects, but they are wakeful at night, which means they wake me up at night, and as I seem to be coming out of a decades-long inability to sleep through the night, a bit annoying and unwelcome. They may be making the trip back to their crates across the room.

They are both beautiful dogs and generally well-behaved.  We do think Amos is a bit of a chewer.  His specialty is chewing up the corner of decorative couch pillows.  He’s chewed sweatshirts and pants, the quilt and quilt cover. He doesn’t like to be alone during the day and it’s about anxiety more than destructiveness. Amos hates to be crated.  We have two crates for each dog, one in the bedroom and one in the dining area.  The latter crates are enormous, quite roomy, but Amos has chewed much of the rattan right off his.  He’s affectionate, and a snuggler, wants to be loved. A bit of a mystery at times, kind of an obnoxious kid brother, loves running off with the toy Rusty is playing with and hiding it.

My boy Rusty.  This is Rusty at his happiest and most enthusiastic, when he wants to pin you down and lick your face off.

My boy Rusty. This is Rusty at his happiest and most enthusiastic, when he wants to pin you down and lick your face off.

Rusty is different.  He’s ridiculously playful and demands it, even whining if we don’t give him attention that instant.  He’s a tremendous walker, pulling violently on the leash until we get up to speed, and then he’s simply a pleasure to go out with. Rusty is the ultimate garbage dog, hard to keep down from the counters, and loves to be the pre-wash cycle in the dish washer. He demands to sit on my lap, often to wash my face when I’m reading.  Nothing he likes better than to put one paw on each shoulder, hold me down and try to drown me with his long tongue.  I just laugh.  While I’m able to breathe.

Some kids have all the fun.

Some kids have all the fun.

Though we continue to miss our girl, the boys have evolved and they certainly are a fun pair to spend time with.

Leave a Reply

